Begone, Stress!

 

This is #2 of 11 questions in 11 days, in response to Writingspiration:

How do you de-stress after a long day?

Stressed2

I have several things to choose from that help me de-stress after a long day at work. On the days I report to work before the sun strikes the horizon, I usually take a nap when I come home, but that’s only because I’ve stayed up too late the night before. Napping may refresh me, but it does not help me de-stress.  I tend to wake up thinking about what else I could have been doing.

Unfortunately, cooking is not something I enjoy, because I know some people find it relaxing. Jennifer doesn’t like doing it either, so our nightly meal time is usually a stressful thing itself.

I used to come home and watch some television, and most often it was the news. Even bad news helped me de-stress a little — it’s all in the presentation, I guess, and there is something relaxing about not having as bad a day as someone else.

But lately I have not been going to the TV. I will flip on the computer nearly always, but that, too, fails to de-stress me because I sign onto Facebook and get sucked into nasty, hateful comments.

What I turn to first  now is usually a book. Some quiet time alone catching up on the lives of the characters in my latest undertaking brings me a feeling of calm. But I still find it often makes me sleepy, too, so sometimes I turn to other diversions instead.

On days like this, I will write something. But that doesn’t happen often enough, and if I’m blogging it’s usually on the day I have set as the due date for my next offering. Deadlines are not de-stressing, but distressing.

I have found pleasure in creating photo books and other photo items from various online resources. I love being able to create an artistic page using photos I’ve already taken, while to blog I have to come up with new material for writing, and then search for appropriate pictures to tie in.

All of these things have something in common: Solitude. The activities also a share a degree of imagination; losing myself in a story of some kind. That’s the bottom line, I guess: After a long day, I can shed my own world for a little while and immerse myself in another. While it is not often I can get lost for very long, I am fortunate that–for now–I can do at all.

I feel better already.

NotStressed


Here are a couple of links for sites I’ve used for photo creations:

 

 

Leave a Reply

