Talking About Blooms, Lanterns, Suffixes and Agains

2015 resolution #8 was less time on Facebook, and so far I am succeeding wonderfully. However, I seem to have filled the newly available time with WordPress. I think it will reduce once blogging class ends in a couple more weeks. I have been writing nearly every day, partly to build up a number of posts so my visitors have more than a couple of choices. But there is a Seinfeldian feel to my posts so far–I am kind of blogging about nothing. But right now it’s about me getting back into the habit of writing, not about earning a million followers.

Today I perused several blogs that I follow and a couple that I had not yet followed, looking for interesting posts on which to comment. This was all about not being selfish, and letting other people know that what they are writing matters. Because it certainly does.

I enjoy reading about other people’s thoughts on places I’ve been, or things that I like. My first stop was There Goes Casey, because she planted a picture of flowers at the top of my Reader. Seeing that the picture was taken during a trip to San Diego, where I have also been, reeled me in. I have not seen enough beauty in the world lately, and flowers are beautiful, so I told Casey I appreciated her post. I also mentioned it was nice to see something good in Southern California. My experiences there had been less than great.

I then returned to another blog that I follow but had not yet commented on: justme0486, where I read that Michael Xavier’s heart is always lighting lanterns for his love to find him. Michael is not justme0486, that’s Rose. But Rose is not really Rose, and I understand completely. I told her that her blog inspires me, and she has since insisted that she doesn’t mean to be an inspiration, only herself. When you are a good person, being yourself is all it takes.

Next I hit up KPKworld, skipping the ruminations and balderdash and going straight to Kevin’s latest post about Scrabble. 5,000 new words in the most recent version of the Official Scrabble Player’s Dictionary, and he already identified all of them. I told him I was impressed with that, and discussed the topic of said post, words ending in the suffix -INGS. Or is it two suffixes? At any rate, the addition of a lot of words that fit that description means that I see a lot of hookings in my future! On second thought: A hook in Scrabble means the connection of one word to the end of another, but I’m thinking that the word HOOKINGS in the OSPD5 means something else entirely.

Finally, tonight I visited a site I had not even seen yet, Traveling Adventures of a Farm Girl, and read about an upcoming event in the Illinois capital. It seems that President Lincoln has died again, and the funeral procession will be reenacted in his hometown, Springfield, for the 150th anniversary of the occasion. I mentioned to the farmer’s wife that I had just been to Springfield last summer and wished I could return for this event. Then I explored some more of her site, and found a post about Tara. While the novel Gone with the Wind had begun and ended the American Civil War again, the film by the same name told the book’s story again, and my comment on this post was that there was no comparison between the two tellings. I then asked her if she knew that there were plans to build the movie-set Tara again. There are, as NBC News reports, and now I have shared that link again.

I hope you have enjoyed my post about posts; my long comment about comments, and that maybe you will click one or more of those links. But don’t feel like you have to. And comments on all of this are, of course, at your discretion.

Only 999,987 follwers to go!

Leave a Reply

